Migrant Services

Centrelink Multicultural Service Officer


Add to favourites

About Us

Centrelink Multicultural Service Officer

Aims to ensure that people from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds can use Centrelink easily. Free interpreters for Centrelink business.

Specialists who help migrant and refugee communities connect with our services.

Around 70 officers operate across Australia from metropolitan to regional and rural service centres.

What they do

Our Multicultural Service Officers (MSO) work with multicultural community groups, staff and other government departments to:

  • promote the department and establish effective relationships in the community and across government
  • improve service delivery to culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) customers by understanding their needs
  • provide support and assistance in complex customer cases
  • help our staff to communicate with multicultural customers through language services
  • raise awareness and competency of our staff in servicing CALD customers
  • establish and maintain effective relationships with internal stakeholders to raise the profile of multicultural services and the MSO program


If you speak a language other than English

We have a range of translated information in your language.

We provide free interpreters and a free translation service to help you conduct your business.

Call our Multilingual Phone Service to speak to someone in your language about Centrelink payments and services.

Multilingual Phone Service

We operate a national multilinguall phone service for customers receiving Centrelink payments and services.

Call the Multilingual Phone Service between 8 am and 5 pm local time, Monday to Friday to speak with skilled bilingual service officers.

If you need help with Medicare or Child Support services, you can call the Multilingual interpreting line. This will connect you to the national Translating and Interpreting Service (TIS).

Quick Facts About The Region

Centrelink - Braddon is located in the suburbs of Braddon and Canberra Central, the council of Canberra and the federal electorate of Canberra.