General Education Programs

Language school


GPO Box 1353, Canberra ACT 2601

(02) 6230 5191



Add to favourites

About Us

The ACT Community Language Schools Association is an umbrella body for community based language schools in the Australian Capital Territory. It has over 50 member schools and about 1900 students learning different kinds of community languages.

The main objectives of the association are:

  • To promote understanding and mutual respect among Ethnic Communities
  • To promote the teaching of languages, history and culture of ethnic communities
  • To co-ordinate and promote inter-ethnic school social and cultural activities
  • To promote the concept of multicultural education and provide language programmes for all students with in the ACT


Languages offered include: Arabic, Bangla, Cantonese, Chinese (Mandarin), Croatian, Dutch, Filipino, Finnish, Greek, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Karen, Khmer, Korean, Macedonian, Maori, Mon, Japanese, Persian, Polish, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Sinhalese, Spanish, Swedish, Tamil, Tongan and Vietnamese.

Each year we celebrate Community Language Schools Day which involves many of the member schools who come to share their cultural heritage in the form of song, dance and verse. Part of the services we provide include running professional development workshops for teachers in ethnic schools and interested members of the community, distributing funding to the member schools of the ACTCLSA and coordinating community events for member schools.

The Office of the ACT Community Language Schools Association is situated in Room 4, Level 2, Theo Notaras Building, 180 London Circuit, Canberra City and we are happy to help with any enquiries you may have regarding Community Language learning.


Quick Facts About The Region

ACT Community Language Schools Association is located in the suburbs of Canberra Central and City, the council of Canberra and the federal electorate of Canberra.