Torres Community

Search Council Services

About This Community

Torres Shire Council has an approximate area of 48,000 km².

It is comprised of the suburb of Thursday Island plus parts of Seisia and Umagico.

It is comprised of the localities of Horn, Prince Of Wales, Punsand and Torres Strait plus parts of Arafura Sea, Injinoo, Jardine River, New Mapoon and Somerset.

It is surrounded by the councils of Cook, Northern Peninsula Area and Torres Strait Island.

It is within the state electorate of Cook.

It is adjacent to the federal electorate of Leichhardt.