Cook Community

Search Community Services

About This Community

The state electorate of Cook has an approximate area of 345,000 km².

It is comprised of 61 suburbs including Badu Island, Bamaga, Bamboo, Boigu Island, Bonnie Doon, Burrar Islet, Cassowary, Cooya Beach, Cow Bay, Craiglie, Daintree, Dauan Island, Degarra, Diwan, Dowar Islet, Erub Island, Evans Landing, Finlayvale, Forest Creek, Guijar Islet, Iama Island, Keriri Island, Killaloe, Kimberley and Low Isles plus parts of Chewko.

It is comprised of 69 localities including Amber, Arafura Sea, Arbouin, Archer River, Aurukun, Bellevue, Biboohra, Bloomfield, Bolwarra, Bulleringa, Cape Tribulation, Chillagoe, Coen, Cooktown, Crystalbrook, Dagmar, Dedin, Desailly, Dixie, Edward River, Fossilbrook, Gamboola, Glen Russell, Groganville and Highbury plus parts of another 12 localities.

It is comprised of the councils of Aurukun, Cook, Douglas, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Lockhart River, Mapoon, Napranum, Northern Peninsula Area, Pormpuraaw, Torres, Torres Strait Island, Weipa and Wujal Wujal plus parts of Carpentaria and Mareeba.

It is surrounded by the state electorates of Barron River, Hill, Mulgrave and Traeger.

It is comprised of the federal electorate of Leichhardt plus parts of Kennedy.