General Community Facilities
From 1887, the first Library was in James Street, in The School of Arts building. People used the Penny Reading Room to rest and read, while waiting for transport.
In 1990 the local council opened the Beenleigh Library next to the Court House. The current Beenleigh Library is in Crete Street overlooking the War Memorial Park. People can read, rest or take part in the many activities at the Beenleigh Library.
The Beenleigh area is the traditional home of the Gugingin people. The area is known as 'Wobbumarjoo' which means as 'boggy clay'. The Gugingin are part of Yugambeh language region south and east of the Logan River to the Tweed River.
John Davy and his brother-in-law Francis Gooding settled in 1864. They named their property 'Beenleigh' after the Gooding family property in Devonshire England. Beenleigh is located between the Logan and Albert Rivers. It was settled by Europeans from 1840. Sugar cane grown in this region led to a successful sugar industry. The earliest licensed distillery in Australia opened in Beenleigh. It produces the award winning Beenleigh Rum.
Located within Beenleigh is The Historical Village and Museum and Yugambeh Museum Language & Heritage Centre.
Visit these websites to explore the history of Beenleigh further.
- Wheelchair access
- Accessible parking
- Accessible toilets
- Wheelchair and wheeled walking aid available
- Automatic height adjustable table with PC
- Adaptive keyboard
- Trackball mouse
- Home Library Service
- Printing / photocopying / scanning
- Public internet access computers
- Free wifi for library members
- Free technology classes
- Meeting Rooms
- Community Languages
- Book Club
- What's on at your library
- Borrow eBooks and eAudiobooks
- Enjoy eNewspapers and eMagazines
- Collaborative work areas
- Study carrels
- Online learning tools
- Off street parking
- Baby change facilities
- Self-serve coffee and refreshment vending machines