Alpine Shire Community

Search Council Services

About This Community

Alpine Council has an approximate area of 4,800 km².

It is comprised of 28 suburbs including Barwidgee, Bogong, Buffalo River, Coral Bank, Dederang, Dinner Plain, Eurobin, Freeburgh, Gapsted, Germantown, Glen Creek, Harrietville, Havilah, Kergunyah South, Merriang, Merriang South, Mongans Bridge, Mount Beauty, Myrtleford, Nug Nug, Ovens, Porepunkah, Rosewhite, Running Creek and Smoko plus parts of Gundowring.

It is comprised of the localities of Abbeyard, Bright, Buckland, Dandongadale, Kancoona, Mount Buffalo, Mudgegonga, Selwyn, Tawonga and Wonnangatta plus parts of Cobungra, Dargo, Falls Creek, Hotham Heights and Wongungarra.

It is surrounded by the councils of East Gippsland Shire, Falls Creek Alpine Resort, Indigo Shire, Mount Hotham Alpine Resort, Towong Shire, Wangaratta Rural City and Wellington Shire.

It is comprised of parts of the state electorates of Benambra and Ovens Valley.

It is within the federal electorate of Indi.