Burdekin Community

Search Council Services

About This Community

Burdekin Shire Council has an approximate area of 16,000 km².

It is comprised of 26 suburbs including Airdmillan, Airville, Ayr, Brandon, Carstairs, Clare, Colevale, Cromarty, Dalbeg, Fredericksfield, Giru, Groper Creek, Home Hill, Horseshoe Lagoon, Inkerman, Jarvisfield, Jerona, Mcdesme, Millaroo, Mona Park, Mount Kelly, Mount Surround, Osborne, Rita Island and Shirbourne.

It is comprised of the localities of Alva, Barratta, Eight Mile Creek, Kirknie, Mulgrave, Rangemore, Swans Lagoon, Upper Haughton and Wangaratta plus parts of Majors Creek.

It is surrounded by the councils of Charters Towers, Townsville and Whitsunday.

It is within the state electorate of Burdekin.

It is comprised of parts of the federal electorates of Dawson and Kennedy.