Ararat Rural City Community

Search Council Services

About This Community

Ararat Council has an approximate area of 4,200 km².

It is comprised of the suburbs of Armstrong, Bayindeen, Cathcart, Denicull Creek, Dobie, Langi Logan, Mininera, Mount Cole, Mount Cole Creek, Narrapumelap South, Norval, Rhymney, Rocky Point, Rossbridge, Stavely, Warrak, Westmere, Willaura North and Yalla-y-poora plus parts of 12 suburbs including Black Range, Carranballac, Chatsworth, Crowlands, Dunneworthy and Elmhurst.

It is comprised of the localities of Ararat, Ballyrogan, Bornes Hill, Lake Bolac, Mafeking, Maroona, Moyston, Tatyoon, Wickliffe and Willaura plus parts of Buangor, Glenthompson, Great Western, Nerrin Nerrin, Pomonal, Streatham and Woorndoo.

It is surrounded by the councils of Corangamite Shire, Moyne Shire, Northern Grampians Shire, Pyrenees Shire and Southern Grampians Shire.

It is comprised of parts of the state electorates of Lowan and Ripon.

It is within the federal electorate of Wannon.